Blackpool Keeper Academy 2016 Small mammals

There are 5487 species of mammals (IUCN).

The smallest mammal is the Hog-nosed Bat (Bumblebee bat) weighing under 2 grams.

The largest mammal is the Blue Whale which weighs 180 tonnes.

Mammal features 

•Vertebrates •Hair/fur on their bodies •Endothermic •Viviparous and milk from mammary glands (some exceptions)

The two monotremes (egg laying mammals) are the platypus and four species of echidnas. ther derived, having highly modified snouts or beaks, and modern adult monotremes have no teeth. Like other mammals, however, monotremes have a single bone in their lower jaw, three middle ear bones, high metabolic rates, hair, and they produce milk to nourish the young.

A marsupial gives birth to relatively undeveloped young called a Joey. Joeys can’t regulate their own body temperature.

Using chicks and fish, I made otter enrichment by placing them in empty food bags. This challenged them to scavenge for their food. 

Rodents are mammals with two continuously growing incisors in the upper and lower jaws. They are kept short by gnawing.

Examples include: porcupine, guinea pig and squirrel.

Methods used to identify animals include:

Natural markings, deformities, tagging, tattooing and microchipping.

The wallabies and kangaroos at Blackpool Zoo have coloured tags (which ear specifies the gender).

I used an ID sheet and approached the animals to try identifying them myself.

I also got the chance to meet the two aardvarks!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s